Worcestershire dating site
Between 14 an unknown architect added the north and south ranges to the cloister, which was eventually closed by the western range by John Chapman, 1435–38.
The last important addition is Prince Arthur’s Chantry Chapel to the right of the south choir aisle, 1502–04. Most of the fittings and the stained glass date from this time.
It is famous for its Norman crypt and unique chapter house, its unusual Transitional Gothic bays, its fine woodwork and its "exquisite" central tower, The cathedral's west facade appeared, with a portrait of Sir Edward Elgar, on the reverse of £20 note issued by the Bank of England between 19, remaining in circulation as legal tender until 30 June 2010.
Remains of the Priory dating from the 12th and 13th centuries can still be seen.
He also strengthened the Norman chapter house, added buttresses and changed its vault.
His masterpiece is the central tower of 1374, originally supporting a timber, lead-covered spire, now gone.
The Priory came to an end with King Henry VIII's Dissolution of the Monasteries, and the Benedictine monks were removed on 18 January 1540 and replaced by secular canons.
The former monastic library of Worcester contained a considerable number of manuscripts which are, among other libraries, now scattered over Cambridge, London (British Library), Oxford Bodleian, and the Cathedral library at Worcester of today.
The large scriptorium at Worcester produced many manuscripts and was a place of work for many famous scribes, such as the chronicler John of Worcester and the unnamed monk identified by his distinctive handwriting as The Tremulous Hand of Worcester.